The Black Book Interview Project

The Black Book Interview Project

| Curator | Talk, Workshop + Publication | Seventeen Gallery as part of London Design Festival|

Is current discourse on design failing design?

The Black Book Interview Project was a daylong series of talks that explored a culture of independent design critique, by creating various testing grounds for the praxis of design discourse to occur.

It was presented as a series of conversations held in a London gallery space over the course of one day. A handful of designers were given an hourly slot in which to host a critical conversation. Each of the dialogues were autonomous, derived from the designer’s own interests and choice of interlocutor.

A selection of writers and designers were also invited to document the days events, responding to them through various modes and means, including live transcription, design writing, journalism, illustration and cartography.

The documentation was then compiled into a physical journal to be used, rejected, or responded to.

To view the publication online here.

Anna Bates I Hannah Barton I Revital Cohen I Beatrice Galilee I Elizabeth Glickfield I Janna Graham I Bahbak Hashemi-Nezhad I Julia Lohmann I Burn Kim I Pete Maxwell I Steven Ounanian I Jerszy Seymour I Faye Toogood + guests

Co-curator: Gillian Russell